Home > Geek, Life > 30 Years Ago…

30 Years Ago…

Back to the Future Part 2Wait, what do you mean people don’t wear their pockets inside out?

I remember when I first got the Back to the Future trilogy on DVD and I watched the second part, I remember thinking that they represented the future in the movie as if they hired a bunch of futurists and then decided to make what they came up with as absurd as possible. There was over the top holographic movie technology, crazy flying cars, thingies that walked dogs (I’m guessing some sort of hovering robot), and people wore two ties for some crazy reason.

And I remember loving the hell out of that.

Nevertheless, here we are in 2015. We don’t have hover cars. We kinda sorta have something that’s close to what you might recognize as a hover board with either a lot of optimism or a few shots of bourbon. We don’t have those fantastic hydrator thingies, we don’t have dust-repellant paper, and we don’t have cafes that are dedicated to our nation’s rampant 80’s nostalgia.

cafe80sNobody really misses Reagan (and most younguns ask “Reagan who?”) and Pepsi is still an
inferior product.  They did get the Soviet flag craze right, though!

We do have what we’ve always had: our optimism and willing to dream big. Our drive to understand who we are and our place in the universe. We move forward, through time if not in other ways, because that is our existence. We struggle through our mistakes, and we come together to mourn our losses. We stand athwart those who would seek to divide us, and we honor the fallen with simple phrases that speak volumes. And that’s not so bad.

Je Suis CharlieSource: http://media4.s-nbcnews.com/j/newscms/2015_02/838246/pc-150107-jesuischarlie-jsw-01_b0e31f0155b6370b9d857ba7f1dcc1aa.nbcnews-ux-960-700.jpg

2014 was a busy year for me, and my posting dropped off almost completely after April. There are a lot of things that I want to catch up on, including writing about my run for State Representative and a few other things. Plus, I’ve got some interesting things to say about John Scalzi’s new novel Lock In, and I really want to get started on some projects I said I would do years ago (I’ve been busy, okay!).

Plus, I’m planning to serialize a novel that I’ve written to my fiction blog, Fictional Heuristics.

I look forward to this new year, and obviously I plan on getting a lot of mileage on Back to the Future references. So, to everyone who reads this (and to all of those poor souls who don’t–you know who you are, all 7,400,000,000 of you) I wish a brilliant and amazing 2015.

Let’s make it worth remembering.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

