Home > A-to-Z Challenge, Geek, Science > A-to-Z Challenge Day Fourteen: Newton!

A-to-Z Challenge Day Fourteen: Newton!

No, I’m not talking about the delicious cookies with a fig paste filling.

Yum…

I’m talking about Isaac Newton.

Not so yum…

I consider Isaac Newton to be one of my personal heroes. Not someone I idolize, so I use hero rather loosely here. But if there is one person who, I think, deserves a lot of credit for modern civilization and our understanding of the workings of the universe it is Newton. Not just because he came up with F=ma, but because of what he represents.

Neil deGrasse Tyson’s Cosmos covered Newton and his contributions to science, knowledge, and indeed our current civilization. It’s safe to say that we wouldn’t have gotten to the moon without Newton.  And, you know, here’s Tyson talking about Newton in a way that makes you feel wholly inadequate.

I guess I’m just kind of sad that we don’t have more appreciation for the search for knowledge and the great discoveries of humanity. I mean, the laws of motion are fairly elegant.

And this post doesn’t even tough on other great scientists, like Einstein, Faraday, Curie, Rosalind Franklin, and many others.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

