Home > A-to-Z Challenge, Asimov, Books, Geek, Science Fiction > A-to-Z Challenge Day One: Asimov

A-to-Z Challenge Day One: Asimov

My attempt at the Blogging from A to Z April Challenge will be off to a rather inauspicious start as I have been inundated by several things today that demanded my attention (none of them April Fool’s day pranks, sadly).

For my first entry, I’d like to talk about the author that really brought me into the world of science fiction, Isaac Asimov.

Asimov practically invented the science of robotics, having expanded Karel Capek’s “Rossum’s Artificial Robots” to include I, Robot. Among Asimov’s novels, I, Robot is my favorite. I may write some time about the relation of Asimov’s robots to Frankenstein’s Monster.

The Foundation  trilogy holds a special place in my heart as well. Hari Seldon is perhaps one of the most remarkable characters in the science fiction canon, particularly because he’s so absent for the stories save for his legacy of psychohistory and the Foundation. To be honest, I found the idea of the Mule to be a bit farfetched, but I did like the plot of Second Foundation and the idea that Seldon, knowing psychohistory could not properly predict the unpredictable, had a plan in place to make sure that they could be incorporated into the plan.

The first book I read by Asimov was actually The Robots of Dawn. I didn’t know at the time it was the third book in the Elijah Baley/Daneel Olivaw sequence, so a lot of it went over my head, but I liked the story. It was probably fortuitous that I found the book in my high school’s library because Ender’s Game and I didn’t really get along, and I read it at almost the same time.

Well, that’s enough prattling for now. Today was a very long and exhausting day and I wasn’t able to put as much into this as I would have liked. I will do better tomorrow.

  1. April 2, 2014 at 3:52 AM

    Great choice for starting off the Challenge. Here’s hoping tomorrow is a better day.
    Visiting from AtoZ

    • April 2, 2014 at 7:13 PM

      Thank you! I’ve gotten a lot done today so I do think it is better. I’m feeling a bit less pessimistic about a writing project I’ve been working on as well.

  2. April 2, 2014 at 6:09 PM

    Asimov is an author who has been on my wish list for years but I still haven’t read. What one book should I start with to make me a fan?

    • April 2, 2014 at 7:12 PM

      It’s either going to be “I, Robot” or “Foundation.” “I, Robot” introduces his conceptualization of robots, which is one of the things that made him famous (the don’t call the Honda robot Asimo for nothing).

      “Foundation” is probably the most widely known of his works, as the Foundation Trilogy won an award for the best science fiction series of all time. They’re both compilations of shorter stories that were published in science fiction magazines, but they’re both good. I think you can’t go wrong either way.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

