March Miscellany

Nameste, my fellow geeks, bloggers, a ne’er-do-wells (well, som’time-do-wells)!

I keep track of the things I want to write about on my blog in a small Moleskine book that I bought because it had Snoopy and Woodstock on it (I’m an old-school Peanuts fan). I don’t always write about the things in the notebook, but I try to keep track of the ideas that pop into my head. Most of the time keeping track of them is a game I lose (like playing Modern Warfare against my fifteen year-old cousin…she’s brutal) but it’s an attempt to remember some of the best ones.

How can you not like Snoopy?

How can you not like Snoopy?

Well, I’ll have to retire this notebook for the entire month of April. I’ve decided to participate in the “Blogging from A to Z April Challenge” and write a blog post every day (except Sunday) for the month of April. From what I understand, every day for twenty-six days I will be writing a post starting with the letter “A” and going through the alphabet until I reach the letter “Z.” I foresee that the letter “X” might be a problem, but I’m sure a person with as large a “word hoard” as mine will be able to deal with it (and not resorting to X-Rays or Xylophone like I did in elementary school).

In other news, I might have to rethink my “no new video game consoles” proclamation. There haven’t been many games that I’ve wanted so far from the latest generations, and I haven’t had any motivation to get a new system because of that. Well, that was until I saw the trailer for “Quantum Break” (warning: age gate).

“Quantum Break” looks, frankly, amazing. I’ve always been a fan of other Remedy games like “Max Payne” and “Alan Wake,” but “Quantum Break” is in a league of its own. It’s not the first game to make use of time manipulation (“Prince of Persia” springs to mind), but it looks like the most promising. The graphics are gorgeous and the plot is definitely intriguing. I’ll really have to reconsider not getting an XBOX One.

I have some exciting news for science fiction geeks: “Amazing Stories” is back! Now it’s a “social magazine” for fans, and it has a lot of great content. They’re not accepting submissions for fiction and poetry yet, but they say they’ll be making announcements when they’re ready for that. I’ll certainly be looking forward to that.

On the topic of science fiction, there are two other great websites. The first is called “SF Signal” and it’s a great resource for keeping track of free book giveaways on amazon.com, as well as reviews of science fiction and fantasy books, and interviews with authors.

The second website is “SF REVIEWS.NET” and is a great resource for reviews on new science fiction novels. The website also has a companion YouTube series hosted by Martin Wagner.

I don’t often talk about the random things I do in my life, but I do have some interesting things to share. The first is that a few weeks ago I went out to eat with some friends at a new restaurant in East Lansing called “HopCat.” My first impressions were that it would be a great place for young people to hang out and be noisy because, well, that’s what was going on. But the food was great and they have 100 beers on tap. Also, they have a great menu design.

I get the feeling that the Dude would approve.

I get the feeling that the Dude would approve.

I spent the last weekend in Ann Arbor, hanging out with my t’hy’la , Anastasia, for International Women’s Day. She creamed me at Air Hockey and Ski Ball, but I’d like to think I put up a valiant effort. We also stopped by our friends’ apartment to celebrate a birthday, and it was great to catch up with them.

I encountered this on the way to Pinball Pete's. It's the Graduate Library and I thought it was pretty cool.

I encountered this on the way to Pinball Pete’s. It’s the Graduate Library and I thought it was pretty cool.

Going to Ann Arbor is always bittersweet for me. I love the city and I miss living there, so leaving is hard. It’s kind of funny, actually, because when I first moved there when I started college I didn’t like it. It took about two years for it to really grow on me, but when it did I just wouldn’t leave.

This little fella was climbing a tree and looked like he meant to jump on me.

This little fella was climbing a tree and looked like he meant to jump on me.

Well, dear readers, that’s all for now. But before I end this post, I’d like to thank all of my readers and all of the people who stop by and comment or like my posts. It gives me some measure of validation, and it’s really nice to know that I’m part of a community here. And, as an added treat, a bad little joke I made, playing off a well-worn meme.

Ewoks!

  1. March 15, 2014 at 12:25 AM

    Hi! I saw your blog in the comments on Jodie’s site and decided to drop by. I’m from a country where there are no squirrels so the picture you took just made me squeal at the cuteness. Ann Arbor looked so nice! Sorry you miss it.

    • March 15, 2014 at 12:31 AM

      Well, thank you for dropping by. You know, Ann Arbor is famous for its friendly squirrels that aren’t afraid of people. They sort of evolved to live with the people in the city, so you can see people feeding them and you can walk up to them sometimes without them running away.

      The University of Michigan even has an official squirrel club.

      http://www.michigansquirrels.com/

      They have a lot of pictures that are frankly better than anything I could ever hope to take.

      • March 15, 2014 at 12:56 AM

        That is so awesome! I only saw a real one for the first time last year. I had to take a business trip to Canada and the hotel I stayed at had black ones running around looking for nuts. It was in the fall. I think they are so beautiful. And quick! Thanks for the amazing pics!

  2. March 17, 2014 at 5:19 PM

    I do like snoopy, no question. Not even a thought.
    Great pics here — and a good quote to go with the library shot.
    I’m not sure I got the joke, but good visiting your blog. See you around during the Challenge.
    Silvia @
    SilviaWrites

    • March 17, 2014 at 8:21 PM

      Thanks for stopping by! Well, you know, I have a lot of in-jokes and jokes that rely on esoteric knowledge. Most of the time I know well enough to keep them to myself, but sometimes…I can’t help it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

