Home > Geek, Writing > Fictional Heuristics

Fictional Heuristics

So what’s all this business about “Fictional Heuristics” and why should I care?

Well, gentle reader, I’ve decided to start a new blog that is separate from this one to post my fictional work. I thought about just posting it all here, but after consulting a few people I decided it would be wiser to create a different blog. I’ve been tossing around the idea of writing a semi-regular fictional series just for the internet and I already have a rough plan about what that would be. I think with a new blog that would be easier to realize.

Of course, this just adds another layer of work on top of all of the other projects I’m doing. A little crazy and reckless, yes, but in the end I just want to dedicate as much time as I can to this work because I love doing it.

I hope that you take the time to check it out because the primary motivation behind this enterprise is to improve my writing ability. And, of course, the only way to do that is to stick your neck out and hope that you can find people willing to critique your writing and give constructive criticisms.

I’d really like to become part of a larger writing community as well, because I like to help people improve their writing and I’m a fairly decent editor (having a degree in English and all). So lets see how this whacky experiment works out on Fictional Heuristics and whether or not I’ll actually manage to make my posts here more regular.

Categories: Geek, Writing Tags: , , ,
  1. March 3, 2014 at 12:21 AM

    Best of luck with this new project. Still don’t quite know what you mean by heuristics :P.

    • March 3, 2014 at 12:41 AM

      Thank you!

      The heuristics bit is actually kind of a private joke. In psychology a heuristic is kind of a mental shortcut that lets a person make decisions and solve problems quickly, but also has some drawbacks like bias.

      So I’m calling the actions of a the main character in fiction, which in general follows of pattern of problem solving and decision-making on the part of a protagonist, a fictional heuristic.

      It’s a private joke because it’s kind of bad.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

