The Wonderful World of Modern Science Fiction

It’s been quite a while since I’ve been able to update this blog. There are reasons, none of which are interesting. So, I have decided that in order to actually post content and pretend to be a writer, I will be doing a review series of my favorite science fiction in the weeks to come. I’ll spread it out over different series and media to make it diverse, because my original idea was to rewatch the remake of Battlestar Galactica and comment on those episodes. However, since Netflix offers me way more science fiction that I can possibly stand (and by this I mean I’m very tempted to throw my life away and just watch TV shows all day), I can spread it out a bit more.

First things first: I have just finished Mass Effect 3, and I have to be honest: I think it is the best video game I’ve ever played. I’ll go into more detail about this when I play it again, but suffice it to say that I really hope that this game represents the future of video games (though, to be fair, EA has done it’s damndest to monetize it, which is the dark side of this kind of gaming experience).

What I’ve been particularly interested in lately is the roles of women in science fiction, so I gather that a great deal of my attention over the course of this science fiction series will be devoted to this area. I apologize in advance, but I will note when other cool things happen. I imagine that Star Trek: Voyager and Battlestar Galactica will give me ample resources for my critiques in this area for television. As far as science fiction books go, I’ll probably focus on some classics, like Asmov, Bradbury, and a few others.

I guess I really do miss being an English major. I used to say that literary analysis wasn’t exactly my strongest area of expertise, but I miss the lengthy papers I wrote discussing necessary and sufficient conditions required to define a being a superhero of supervillain (hint, there are no generalizable necessary or sufficient conditions—there are, however, groups of necessary conditions that create a jointly sufficient conditions in specific contexts–for instance, early Superman is not that same as modern Superman, so how do we define each as a superhero?). You know what else I miss? Talking to people who actually care that Italo Calvino’s character, Qwfwq, in his book Cosmicomics, took his name from the equation describing a heat engine (Q=W=Q) as described in the Second Law of Thermodynamics. This leads me to speculate that, perhaps, he is the embodiment of entropy and the inherent irreversibility of the nature of the universe. He always take on new forms, and remembers his past forms.

But that’s for another time. Entropy and thermodynamics are complicated issues which I don’t fully understand, so before I talk about those I’d rather learn more about them.

Anyway, I’ll most likely start out with the first miniseries that started the modern Battlestar Galactica. Eventually I’ll have this posted. I also want to get to writing my essay about Half-Life 2. I’ll be making a new page with links to the posts for easy access and categorization (which is something I’m obsessed with, so you’ll have to put up with it).

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

