Home > Career, Jobs, Life > Didn’t See That Coming…

Didn’t See That Coming…

Generally, I’m very happy with my decision to major in English and I think of earning my Bachelor of Arts degree as a monumental triumph. I’ve learned a great deal, and an English major allows you to branch out into different departments and build a wide base of knowledge.

Practically, however, it isn’t really all that great for a career. I have a rather serious heart condition called aortic valve stenosis which is a degenerative and rather expensive condition. I was born with a bicuspid aorta valve, and some time ago my cardiologist confirmed a diagnosis of AVS. I guess the point I’m trying to make is that I need a stable career with decent pay because of the complications that will arise later in life.

That’s why I have decided, after careful consideration, to go back to school and work toward becoming a Physician Assistant. I’ve always wanted to be a doctor, but I haven’t really been able to realize that particular goal until now. True, I won’t be a doctor, technically, but I would have many of the duties and responsibilities of a doctor. I think that this is where I want to go; what I want to do.

Of course, I’ll still chase my passions: reading, writing, stand-up…but I’ll have a serious career. This is where I want to be and I have this amazing sense of purpose that I don’t think I’ve ever had before. Indeed, college has been a pretty intense learning experience (and I’m not just talking about academics). I’ve had to mature and learn how to manage my time and my money, mostly on my own. I think that I’m finally ready to do something important with my life

Categories: Career, Jobs, Life Tags: , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

