Miscellany

December 24, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

Well, the last semester was a success. I four-pointed all of my classes and now look forward to organic chemistry and human anatomy next semester. I’m very enthusiastic about my progress toward becoming a physician’s assistant, but I do have to say that I miss microbiology. I may decide to make a series of posts about topics in microbiology in the future because I find the field of study fascinating.

Other things in my life have been proceeding at a healthy pace. I’ve been adding more to the story I started writing for NaNoWriMo and I’m optimistic that the rough draft will be complete in another month or so. I have also just finished George R.R. Martin’sA Feast for Crows” and I have to admit that I wasn’t as impressed with this installment as I was with the previous novels. I gather that this is the consensus opinion. I don’t really have much to say about it in terms of a review except that I think Martin continues to display his impressive talent at writing characters while displaying a horribly clumsy writing style.

My friend Crystal has a website that I have linked my blog to that talks about education. I think it’s very well done and I appreciate her writing style. It’s called “edunewsyoucanuse” and it’s fairly easy to tell she’s very passionate about her chosen profession.

I’m planning on writing a post about video game violence and aggression, and I’ve already started to do a great deal of research on the topic. I take this topic very seriously and have explored it in great detail in the past. Though I am a fan of video games I don’t write off the very real psychological effects that violent video games can have. With that said, however, I do not believe that the right answer for dealing with horrible tragedies like the events in Newtown is to attack video games, and I will go into more detail later.

I’m also very excited about The Great Gatsby movie. It was one of my favorite books in high school and, from what I can see, it will be a very interesting take on the story.

Via io9, I ran across a post displaying some very interesting artwork from Melanie Schultz that shows a ponderous William T. Riker. It’s actually really fantastic.

And, finally, I’ve been planning to write a series of articles about Bioshock 1 and 2. I’ve completed a playthrough of Bioshock and am almost done with a playthough of Bioshock 2. I have taken a lot of notes on each and I have some pretty interesting ideas about them and hope to discuss a lot of topics. I know that I’ve also got a lot of other essays to write, including a number on Battlestar Galactica. I guess with the upcoming release of Bioshock Infinite I want to focus on these games.

Anyway, I wish everyone a happy new year. I don’t know if I’ll be writing another post before then.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 456 other followers

